Movie Draft SE Review

Publisher: iikon limited–Price: $29.99–Ever had a great idea for a movie? With Movie Draft, your finished product may not be out of your reach. It’s obviously tough for this app to distinguish itself, as most people ask, “Why would I pay thirty bucks when I can just use word-proccesing software?” The answer to this is, Movie Draft makes it a lot easier. As soon as the app is fired up, you’re ready to start writing. The user interface is made up of three main panels: the writing area, the left side where you can see each scene and its description, and the top panel which allows for basic functions (open, save). Overall, the user interface was simple and easy to understand, which I really liked. Another key feature Movie Draft offered that you just won’t find in Microsoft Word is the timer at the bottom of the window, which tells you how long the movie is based on text entered, transitions, and other factors. I also liked the fact that one could meticulously manage many aspects of your script, like the characters panel, as shown below:
The one thing I’m a little wary about is the price of this application. It’s worth it for people who are avid movie screen writers, but if you just want to try it out, thirty bucks is quite a commitment. I recommend a lite version that emphasizes Movie Draft’s features, so that people can see the quality for themselves. I liked the full screen view, which is available to non-Lion users, as it helps you focus when writing. Overall, Movie Draft SE does exactly what it says it does. I just think they should offer the tutorial video from the site on app startup, and maybe a price update. This app gets a 9 out of 10 from me.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: facebook123

  2. Van Arsdall

    This design is wicked! You obviously know how to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

Leave a comment